Executive and Steering Committees

Thought leaders in our region’s schools, colleges and universities, governments, economic development coalitions, and businesses.

Steering Committee Leadership

In November of 2019, educational and business thought leaders–including representatives from public and private four-year universities, community colleges, K-12 public school systems, economic development coalitions, and businesses–met to begin the process of moving forward what was then called the Land of Sky Educational Attainment and Workforce Collaborative. In addition, a Steering Committee was developed to continue the work. Learn more about our history.

Key to enhancing the leadership development capacity is the ability to “grow” the P20 Council’s role in planning, organizing, leading, staffing, and controlling operational policies and procedures. The Steering Committee has played an important role in providing direction to the Executive Director, while guiding the development, engagement, and actions of the P20 Council membership. 


The Steering Committee and Executive Committee assist the P20 Executive Director in the following ways:

  •  Setting Strategic Directions, Goals, and Priorities 
    1. Pre-K/Early Childhood Educational Stakeholders’ Support and Initiatives
    2. K-12 Educational Stakeholders’ Support and Initiatives
    3. Higher Educational Stakeholders’ Support and Initiatives 
    4. Workforce Development Stakeholder’s Support and Initiatives 
  • Establishing a Workplan
  • Identifying Opportunities
  • Leadership Guidance

Executive Committee Members

Executive Committee (2023-2025)

Dr. Gene Loflin - Chair

Emily Martin - Vice Chair

Dr. Ivry Cheeks - Secretary

Dr. Tracy Parkinson - Treasurer

Inaugural Executive Committee (2021-2023)

Greg Lowe - Chair

Dr. Mark Dickerson - Vice Chair

Dr. Laura Leatherwood - Secretary

Deb Tibbetts - Treasurer

The following Ex Officio members of the Executive Committee were founding members of the Educational Attainment & Workforce Collaborative:

Jack Cecil

Jack Cecil is the President and CEO of Biltmore Farms and a member of the myFutureNC Board of Directors. Mr. Cecil received his B.A. from UNC-Chapel Hill and a Masters in International Management from the American Graduate School of International Management (Thunderbird). He serves as Chair and member of the National Advisory Board of the Institute for Emerging Issues, Governor for the Urban Land Institute Foundation, and Trustee of the Duke Endowment.

Michael Dempsey

Dr. Michael Dempsey is the Dean and Director of Lenoir-Rhyne University’s Center for Graduate Studies at Asheville. Dr. Dempsey holds a bachelor’s degree in philosophy from the College of Charleston, a master’s degree in history from the University of Charleston/The Citadel and a doctorate in educational leadership from Western Carolina University.

Joseph Fox, Ed.D., MBA, PHR

Dr. Joseph Fox is the President and CEO of Fox Management Consulting Enterprises. He earned an Ed.D. and an MBA from Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, NC, and a B.S. degree in Business Administration from Pfeiffer University in Misenheimer, NC. Dr. Fox also possesses the Professional in Human Resources Management (PHR) National Certification, Achieve Global Leadership Training Certification, and the Rural Entrepreneurship through Action Learning (REAL) Certification.

John Gossett, Ed.D., MBA

Dr. John D. Gossett joined A-B Tech Community College as its seventh president in July 2020. He holds a B.S. in Marketing from the University of Tennessee, an M.B.A. from Appalachian State University, and an Ed.D. in Adult and Community College Education from North Carolina State University. His doctoral dissertation focused on the role of community colleges in economic development.

Gene Loflin

Dr. Gene Loflin is the Associate Vice President of Compliance at Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College (A-B Tech). He earned a bachelor’s degree from Mars Hill University, a master’s degree in Education from Appalachian State University, and a Ph.D. in Education from Florida State University. He previously served as the Associate Vice President for Instructional Services at A-B Tech.

Nathan Ramsey, J.D.

Nathan Ramsey is the Director of the Mountain Area Workforce Development Board and the Executive Director of the Land of Sky Regional Council. He earned a B.S. degree from UNC Asheville and a J.D. from the University of Tennessee College of Law. Mr. Ramsey is a member of the NC State Bar. He served in the NC General Assembly representing House District 115 from 2013 to 2014 and as Chairman of the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners from 2000 to 2008.

William Sederburg, Ph.D.

Dr. William Sederburg is a retired university president and the current Chair of the WNC Broadband project. He earned a B.S. degree from Minnesota State University – Mankato and a Ph.D. in Political Science and Public Administration from Michigan State University. Dr. Sederburg served as a Senator in the Michigan State Senate, the President of Ferris State University, the President of Utah Valley University, the Utah Commissioner of Higher Education, and the Interim Chancellor of UNC Wilmington.

Executive and Steering Committee Meeting Agendas and Minutes


March 11, 2024
Agenda Minutes
February 12, 2024
Agenda Minutes


June 16, 2023
Agenda Minutes
April 21, 2023
February 17, 2023
Agenda Minutes
January 20, 2023
Agenda Minutes


December 16, 2022
Agenda Minutes
October 20, 2022
Agenda Minutes
September 16, 2022
Agenda Minutes
August 15, 2022
July 12, 2022
Agenda Minutes


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!